Flights of Fancy —

Writing is a solitary art, and some writers enjoy staying inside the lovely cocoon of their own minds. My own mind, frankly, is not so hospitable, and I thus make concentrated efforts to connect with other writers to build a society, especially as a writer living in a foreign country.  I was pleased at the chance, therefore, to work with a performing arts buddy, who shares my love of ballet and opera in Japan.

It was not always a smooth collaboration; I worried about balancing my own agenda and ego, completely forgetting about her own, but ultimately I learned not only about opera, but about people and culture, communication and working styles.

Here is our finished piece, on opera in Japan.

 

New National Theatre, Tokyo, hopes Yuzuru will help Japanese opera soar | The Japan Times Online.

Leave a Reply

